Miyagi Son …

“Better learn balance. Balance is key. Balance good, karate good. Everything good. Balance bad, better pack up, go

Mr Miyagi or Homer Simpson's Life Philosophy or both?

Mr Miyagi or Homer Simpson’s

home. Understand?”  – Mr. Miyagi

 

Quote significance: Balance is a double meaning word, you need balance to stand up and not fall, but you need balance in your life areas, or else your life will become unstable.

 

As some loyal readers (the one or two of you out there) might have noticed that I have not posted anything on this blog in quite a while. I have no excuse other than laziness in creativity and exercise. I am still trying to find that one new event to train towards but also wants to add some balance to my bachelor life in doing more ‘other’ stuff and not just train. To find the balance, that is the question.

Festive Season. Food. Fermented Beverages. Friends. Fun. Fatter. (Good fun at the girls'"book club"year end function with Matt,Toby, Rob and Ev

Festive Season. Food. Fermented Beverages. Friends. Fun. Fatter. (Good fun at the girls'”book club”year end function with Matt,Toby, Rob and Ev

Now since 2016 I have managed to let my eyes wonder over a few pieces of food and to be honest my secret ability of extracting nutrients, specifically fat, from food by just look at it is still very much active. I can either blame this super power of mine for the few extra kilograms I collected since last year this time or if I must it could have been my love of craft beer and good food over the festive season. But then I would have to blame my friends and I can’t do that.

Those beers again. Will miss my mate Rob on our weekend MTB rides and that compulsory beer stop. Good luck with the new venture Kuc!

Those beers again. Will miss my mate Rob on our weekend MTB rides and that compulsory beer stop. Good luck with the new venture Kuc!

It is scary how easy one can fall back into old habits in not watching and controlling what one eats. “These few beers won’t make a difference. I really feel like a chocolate. It is holidays after all, go for it. This is yummy, let’s have some more.” You get the picture. On the positive side, I have kept myself active and fitness is not a problem – only gravity…

 

My friend and weekly MTB riding partner Rob has taken up a huge

Proof that I did get out a rode during the holidays. Here with the Norman's, Trystan, Andrew and Rob Kucera

Proof that I did get out a rode during the holidays. Here with the Norman’s, Trystan, Andrew and Rob Kucera

working opportunity in Uganda and I would like to wish him and his family all the best with this new venture with the Carlson Rezidor Hotel Group. I am sure it would be a huge success Rob and we will hopefully come visit Kampala soon to try out the local beer and mountain bike trails (oh and Tiger fishing).

 

That all serious training ride post work with Dom and Jacky. Was super cool girls. Keep on riding

That all serious training ride post work with Dom and Jacky. Was super cool girls. Keep on riding

Now I am no expert in the ways of cycling and or exercise, but as regular readers and followers of my journey (the 2 of you) know is that I have been through a lot in my cycling and fitness adventure so I might have picked up some hints and tips along the way. This brings me to a new chapter in my journey, that as advise giver and helper (I would not say mentor) in the girls at the office’s training program towards riding the Cape Town Cycle Tour. It has been super fantastic to assist and give advice where I can to Dominique de Lauwere who is new to our cycling sport but very enthusiastic. It is super to depart

Spot the 1st timer on top of Chappies. Well done Dom and thanks for joining us on the ride Mr. Norman

Spot the 1st timer on top of Chappies. Well done Dom and thanks for joining us on the ride Mr. Norman

with the little knowledge I have, especially to someone appreciative and eager to learn and do well, working towards that goal of finishing the Cape Town Cycle Tour with training partner and colleague Jacky McClean, all part of our little office training group.  Keep going Dom and Jax – you will do great. Put in the time in the saddle now and you will be more than fine come Cape Town Cycle Tour time.

 

Now besides all that, training wise, and the return to early morning alarms to go outside and burn fat there is also still the unresolved issues with the in-office Fashion Police. It has been tough to keep up with what is acceptable and not acceptable apparel to clothe myself in. Contributing factors being the fluctuating body measurements due the

Apparently these #shoesmustfall Very scared that the Fashion Police gets a hold of my credit card

Apparently these #shoesmustfall Very scared that the Fashion Police gets a hold of my credit card

festive season activities and other external factors like good food and craft beer, has made it difficult to live up to the standards set by the Fashion Police, aka Sarah Marx and Lauren de Wet. I do feel the pressure, and acceptance within the social group and volatile office ecosystem, so a shopping spree is inevitable…

 

That being it, really looking forward to the next few weeks of training and riding my bike with Dom, Jacky and whomever joins us in the lead up to the Cape Town Cycle Tour. That whole balance thing of training to keep in shape and in the wardrobe whilst living live and eating healthy is quite a challenge…and to part with knowledge is stressful and dangerous, especially if you might not know much…

Kucera, looking forward to our next ride at the Tygerberg MTB Trails. In the mean time have a blast in Kampala with the new Radison Blu in Kampala, Uganda

Kucera, looking forward to our next ride at the Tygerberg MTB Trails. In the mean time have a blast in Kampala with the new Radison Blu in Kampala, Uganda

Christmas gift - these amazing rh+ gloves. Love them

Christmas gift – these amazing rh+ gloves. Love them

After that insane fall - great to have conquered the Cobra Kuc. #MTBFun

After that insane fall – great to have conquered the Cobra Kuc. #MTBFun

Craft Beer, so good! If only it was carb free ;)

Craft Beer, so good! If only it was carb free 😉

The View.

The View.

A Grande Cappuccino to start a Monday post Fedhealth XTERRA Buffelspoort

A Grande Cappuccino to start a Monday post one of our events, Fedhealth XTERRA Buffelspoort

When you climb up Tokai Mountain after a 116km road ride the previous day - it slightly hurts

When you climb up Tokai Mountain after a 116km road ride the previous day – it slightly hurts

Dominique de Lauwere - Keep on training/riding and you will have a super Cape Town Cycle Tour. #MustHaveFun

Dominique de Lauwere conquering Chapmans Peak – Keep on training/riding and you will have a super Cape Town Cycle Tour. #MustHaveFun

Leave a Reply

