Seriously Fun

After the months of dedication and discipline in training for the 2016 Absa Cape Epic (it was worth it) it was great to be out on the bike at the Cell C Arabella Challenge over the weekend hosted by Stillwater Sports. No pressure and just having fun and of course a couple of glasses of wine.

The weekend started off with the Mother of all storms that fortunately settled the trails and we had super riding conditions

The weekend started off with the Mother of all storms that fortunately settled the trails and we had super riding conditions

A weekend at Arabella Hotel and Spa is always a world class and wonderful experience, being it for and event like the Arabella Challenge or just for a weekend breakaway. The whole event is very much family based and has a very relaxed and chilled atmosphere and vibe going with it. The weekend was spent with a lot of familiar faces although the usual suspects were sorely missed, but wine induced or not – the weekend was serious fun. Great company and the amazing trails made for fun weekend, not even the monstrous storm that hit the Cape on Friday afternoon and evening could damper the weekend celebrations. I even managed to play 9 holes of golf after our ride on Saturday. The first time in over three years and the least said about it the better. Congratulations Rob Kucera and Jon Adams, myself and Wayne Siepman are demanding a rematch. #GolfHacker

Congrats to Rob Kucera who tactically attacked on the 1st climb of Day 1 to kick my butt in mountain biking and golf. Super weekend Rob, was great fun

Congrats to Rob Kucera who tactically attacked on the 1st climb of Day 1 to kick my butt in mountain biking and golf. Super weekend Rob, was great fun

 

Since the Cape Epic I have not been on the bike as much as I would have liked to, purely because I do not like the winter and being cold. Getting up early and going riding in the dark on your own (and finishing in the dark) is not fun, but I have also been lazy and the fact that for the last 4 weekends I’ve had a bachelors, wedding, 40th and the Arabella Challenge the enjoyment factor of these did not contribute much to me getting 2 days of riding in over the weekends. And now heading for the 5th event in a row with another 40th celebration this weekend to continue the ‘perfect’ lead up to having to be ready for Gravel and Grape 3 day MTB race come the first weekend of May – I will be suffering. The Iqela Events team must be forewarned that we are looking forward to a fantastic 3 days of riding.

 

Saying that, I can’t wait for this race as I will be joining up with the Original KTM Phat Boy, Evert Ferreira as we once again combine as riding partners after Ev’s sabbatical of 3 years. Will be awesome to have him back on the bike and at least I know that I won’t be enjoying a post ride beverage on my own.

Cycling the 13km back from Wildekrans to Arabella for the golf with Corné Barnard from Rockhopper Adventures leading the KTM bus out

Cycling the 13km back from Wildekrans Wine Estate to Arabella for the golf with Corné Barnard from Rockhopper Adventures leading the KTM bus out

I know I have to stay focussed and keep on training whilst keeping with my diet if I want to stay on top of the Obelix curse and prevent myself gaining weight and growing back into my clothes of 6 months ago. With all these social activities and horrible winter weather of cold and darkness it will take once again epic like dedication and discipline to keep this slim physique. Let’s hope I can defeat the laziness over the

We just had to enjoy a cold beverage from Honingklip Brewery on the last day. It went done superbly after 16km of single track at Wildekrans

We just had to enjoy a cold beverage from Honingklip Brewery on the last day. It went done superbly after the hard work of riding 16km of single track at Wildekrans non stop.

next couple of months to be in top riding shape when spring commences. I know it will be tough, but it is better than having to buy a new wardrobe again…

Leave a Reply

