Caged Animal – where’s the Vet?

It has now been nearly two weeks since the completion of that 8 day mentally challenging MTB race aka the 2016 Absa Cape Epic and I have done no exercise of any sort. Now before you start judging me and thinking that I have thrown in the towel of have become lazy and so forth, here are all the excuses.

My super "love the steep climbs' partner Thinus Crafford and myself on the "podium" after finishing with 2 other guys. Apparently the beat us by beat us by 415 positions on the last day

My super “love the steep climbs’ partner Thinus Crafford and myself on the “podium” after finishing with 2 other guys. Apparently the beat us by beat us by 415 positions on the last day. Manuel Fumic & Henrique Avancini of some other bike brand Factory Racing Team

Common sense dictates that one should at least take a small break after riding 647km with 15,000m of climbing over 8 days and that was the plan for the first few days. Take it easy, body not feeling too bad and able to still walk without too much pain or effort, all was looking good for a quick recovery and with Easter Friday the ideal day to get back on the back the plan for the week was set.

Then I made the fatal mistake. I met up with a friend at a well-known establishment in Cape Town where I got exposed to celery juice. To protect my friend and the establishment they will not be exposed but I have made contact with my lawyers. Now I don’t like celery, but I thought I would give the juice a try, living sort of healthy now you know and how bad could it be? It actually turned out to very tasty and I even contemplated having a second glass, but that might have been too healthy.

Miss the dirt and the grind #OfficeHater

Miss the dirt and the grind #OfficeHater

Anyway I digress, the point I’m trying to bring across in my rambling is coming back to the no exercise and that all being due to flu – herewith the Wikipedia description of the flu: “Influenza, commonly known as “the flu”, is an infectious disease caused by an influenza virus. Symptoms can be mild to severe. The most common symptoms include: a high fever, runny nose, sore throat, muscle pains, headache, coughing, and feeling tired. These symptoms typically begin two days after exposure to the virus and most last less than a week. The cough, however, may last for more than two weeks”

Thursday night I still felt strong and actually consuming my first beer (lite) since finishing the Cape Epic with my good mates Willie and Belia making burgers with the legend Henties de Villiers visiting from Oudsthoorn. Moderation was the key as I had that cycle planned for Friday. Good morning Good Friday and good day man down de Ridder. Now you have read the definition of flu and saw that symptoms typically begin two days after exposure…and the conclusion – blame the celery juice as it was the only thing I did out of my normal habits. Happiness engulfed me as I spent my entire Easter Weekend feeling sorry for myself and under the duvet in front of that square box showcasing glorious sport. That was just great.

Super Supporters Willie du Plooy and Chantel Rall with us showing our support in wishing Chantel all the best #FuckCancer #LoverChanty I think I might have a shaved head shortly

Super Supporters Willie du Plooy and Chantel Rall with us showing our support in wishing Chantel all the best #FuckCancer #LoverChanty I think I might have a shaved head shortly

Always fighting the fight against that extra weight the slightest amount of food consumption adds to my big boned bodily structure, I endeavoured each night after Easter to go exercise the next day. That has not happened yet as I only feel close to 100% human again today, I did however go shower at the gym to keep up my monthly visits. The things we have to do…

Stuck in the office for the week without physical activity and the pressure applied by the boss man post Cape Epic made for a wonderful few weeks as I felt like a caged turtle -wanting to break out at speed with the mind but the body just not responding in a Tasmanian devil way.

So my Cape Epic blues has been a great experience and I would rather be riding the Cape Epic every week than be stuck in the office. I actually miss the structured training regime from coach Alasdair Garnett and it was super cool to see him and wife Gretha at the finish, if I do attempt a third one for that Amabubezi title I already know who my coach would be and thank you to KTM Bike Industries SA and Mitas Bicycle Tyres SA for making it possible for us to ride this year (we had no tyre or bike issues) as well as all our awesome supporters lead by Loriaan aka Lolla Crafford.

Super cool to see these mad people at the finish - miss it

Super cool to see these mad people at the finish – miss it

Back on the bike for me and I should also maybe run a little bit as I do have the FNB Cape Town 12 OneRun on the 15th of May but firstly I have to keep in shape for the Cell C Arabella MTB Challenge on 23 & 24 April followed by the Gravel and Grape MTB Challenge 6 – 8 May 2016.

The one thing I know is that I will stay away from the celery juice.

PS:  We still have not found that Cape Leopard on route, hopefully in one of my next MTB Challenges – come now show your support for the Cape Leopard Trust we need them to survive!

 

Leave a Reply

