Phat Boys – Nowhere to hide

Thank G… arnett that I don’t have to be on my bike today J

Will i be able to survive 8 days of courage with this bloke on my left...looking forward to a tough and great week Thinus

Will i be able to survive 8 days of courage with this bloke on my left…looking forward to a tough and great week Thinus

A few days left before the start of an unforgettable adventure and I know my riding partner Thinus is super excited and also nervous, and so am I as well. To finally get to the starting point of 6 months of disciplined training and sacrifices to friends and family is daunting and that drive to finish all 8 days exhilarating. I think the biggest challenge on Sunday would be to hold back Thinus from not shooting out of the starting blocks like the Greyhound (“Die Windhond”) we know that he is from the excitement of being on live TV for the first time (Supersport 6 from 09:30 – 14:00) oh! and of course to have gotten to the start of a life dream and bucket list event could also play a part. For those that want to follow our adventure, our prologue start time is 08:11 on Sunday 13 March, our race number is 321 and you can follow the race live through Tracker.

 

From a form point of view I should be feeling confident as I completed the Cape Town Cycle Tour of 109km’s in a personal best time of 3:30 in my 5th attempt at this race. Taking 23 minutes of my previous best time in 2014, I am also confident that Thinus is in top shape, which could spell tough times for me trying to keep up with the speedster. Here is where we have to say thank you to coach Alasdair Garnett from The Practise, keeping us focussed and well trained, we appreciate your input and effort and we both wish that you and Gretha could have been in the race with us. That would have been fantastic; we wish you well and know we will be thinking of you, all the best for your personal challenges ahead, we sure all will go well.

Not too a bad time for a Phat Boy at the Cape Town Cycle Tour... now I can retire from this event

Not too a bad time for a Phat Boy at the Cape Town Cycle Tour… now I can retire from this event

Live well, eat well and play hard, so after the race on Sunday some great company at the Westin Cape Town as we consumed some Burgers and Beer for recovery

Live well, eat well and play hard, so after the race on Sunday some great company at the Westin Cape Town as we consumed some Burgers and Beer for recovery

 

To KTM Bike Industries and Mitas Tyres for giving us the opportunity to ride the event and for all the support through all the relevant persons involved here, Johan, Greg, Willie, Pavel and Morné from The Bicycle Company sorting out and handling our numerous outrages requests. Thanks Morné and team, your support has been fantastic. To all my family as well from backing me and following my journey and putting up with me (all my sisters will know). To my mate Rich from Freewheel Cycology and crew for sorting my bike out with a proper pre-epic service and making sure I’m all ready and set up to go.

So my partner had this brain wave to thank our supporters through doing some special for them - great T-shirt TC

So my partner had this brain wave to thank our supporters through doing some special for them – great T-shirt TC. Thanks for the awesome shirts Canterbury (CCC)

To our mates in our cycling group thanks for all the support so far and backing us even though some of you support the wrong rugby teams. Kuc thanks for all those weekend rides, always a pleasure and great fun and next year is your turn. Wikkelspies for always having my back and eager to join in the riding over the weekends and getting me on a bike in the first place. Andrew we’ve missed the riding all the events we did in the past thank for the support and always encouraging words to keep us going. Eben I know would have loved to still be riding with us over the weekends and riding Camels in Egypt is just not the same as mountain biking, we know you miss it, hang in there and thanks for the support. Ev, my partner in crime and for months supplier of free beer at the braai, you have done so much for us with regards to apparel and always eager to help and sort things out, we need to get you back on the bike, sure Nikki can handle the tribe over weekends 🙂 Thanks for all your support Nix. Marilize we haven’t forgotten you, we know you always there to make things happen. Vik, Richard and Rodney from Creative Workshop – just saying lunch is on me after the epic and there will be Tequila, you guys are legendary.

 

Thinus also have so many people that are supporting him (us), I might not know all so if I miss someone I do apologise as all of you have supported Thinus and the Phat Boys in so many ways. First of all Lolla who had to be a Cape Epic widow for close to 6 months, your support has been amazing and we could not have done it without your support and involvement and encouragement . It must have been tough at times and the sacrifice made is appreciated. I’m sure Thiaan more than did his part in Thinus’ journey to the start on Sunday. Thanks to Loriaan’s family and the Lutzville Hotel for their support, Nolan and family from the Tyger Valley Cadence Cycling Performance Centre, André and the guys from Thinus’ work, Intaprop, thanks gents, much appreciated. Morajane du Plessis attorneys and Gerra with the support from Jo-Rie, Hannes and Paula and Pieter and Liesel, Riaan Gouws and everyone that Lolla has added onto the WhatsApp group that I might have missed.

 

I’m now tired of typing and saying thank you, if I missed anyone it was not on purpose and I apologise as I am still sulking after the T20 lost to Australia last night and might not be totally refocused on the cycling side of things.

My friend Chantel Rall were also supposed to be on the start line with us, but unfortunately her cancer returned and all my thoughts and wishes are with her. Hang in their Chantz and loads of love, we will miss you in the start chute but will hopefully see you at the finish line again. #LoveChanty

 

Let the adventure begin.

 

PS: Belia, if we (when) we make it to the finish line on the 3rd, please make sure it us Ultra Mel custard that is on that Malva Pudding…

Start of the 55km to be completed in 3:48 with a tumble or two

Start of the 55km to be completed in 3:48 with a tumble or two

Breakfast at The Westin Cape Town for the media launch of Columbia as partner of the Absa Cape Epic Pictured are Jeremy Harris of KFM, Rob Kucera General Manager and cycling training buddy and a Phat Boy)

Breakfast at The Westin Cape Town for the media launch of Columbia as partner of the Absa Cape Epic Pictured are Jeremy Harris of KFM, Rob Kucera General Manager and cycling training buddy and a Phat Boy)

Early morning selfie

Early morning selfie

Minglong with the who's who at the Columbia breakfast. Amazing journey by Fat Kid on a Bike aka Ron Rutland

Minglong with the who’s who at the Columbia breakfast. Amazing journey by Fat Kid on a Bike aka Ron Rutland

A great night at the cricket with some mates, pity we lost against the Aussies

A great night at the cricket with some mates, pity we lost against the Aussies

Riding through the burnt landscape of Simonsberg at the Cape Town Cycle Tour MTB Challenge.

Riding through the burnt landscape of Simonsberg at the Cape Town Cycle Tour MTB Challenge.

Leave a Reply

