W2W – Going for number 5

It seems like a lifetime ago when I first was crazy enough to attempt riding Wines2Whales on my 26” KTM Score Prestige with in retrospect having had no idea what laid ahead and what I was doing.  What was the longest day (s) of my life on a bicycle just inspired me to become better, healthier and fitter to not have to go through that again. I am still grateful for my mate Evert Ferreira who started on this journey with me and stuck it out as I walked down single track that today I could ride without even flinching. From those early days I am about 30kg lighter a living a healthy balanced life with exercise (well mountain biking mostly) playing a big part in my weekly routine.

Pictured on the left is myself and Evert finishing Wines2Whales with the Sweeps Errol and Matt - Great bunch of guys and I'll always be thankful for their patience and help. Pictured right is myself and Thinus Crafford finishing in 2014

Pictured on the left is myself and Evert finishing Wines2Whales way back in the day (just before sunset) with the Sweeps Errol and Matt – Great bunch of guys and I’ll always be thankful for their patience and help. Pictured right is Thinus Crafford and myself finishing in 2014 with smiles.

 

I must thank Michael Meyer and his Stillwater Sports team who has been encouraging and supportive since I ensured their days of the 2011 Wines2Whales were much longer than they anticipated, the patience they had and the support to have me back the next year to race it again and through their initiative helping me with training and guiding me on the path to cycling and discovering the enjoyment of mountain biking. (Also the following year the event introduced cut-off times, I’m sure that had nothing to do with me and my endurance ride of chasing the sunset on the bike each day)

FNB Wines2Wales is a signature event for me and hopefully it can remain on my riding calendar for many years to come as I am super chuffed to be able to attempt to finish the event with for the 5th time. I am really looking forward to the event as the Stillwater team always puts together a well organised and enjoyable event and every year there are more and improvements. Please don’t tell them my training is not where it should be.

I just had to share this pic from my early toxic fluid cleansing ride outside Robertson this weeken

I just had to share this pic from my early toxic fluid cleansing ride outside Robertson this weekend

This weekend saw me out camping, something I haven’t done in ages and what a great experience it was. Forget about sleeping in a tent and all the other non-apparent glamorous stuff as just being out with great people with loads of fun made for a fantastic weekend. Well done Nikki on surviving your first “glamping” (Glamorous Camping) experience. Rich and Diana thanks for the organising of everything and all the arrangements, I’m sure Toby, Anna, Matt and Liesl will support me in saying that it was great and we need the abovementioned four to ensure we visit the best farms for great wine tasting. Speaking of which, this fits in perfectly with the upcoming Wines2Whales adventure as instead of riding my bike and training, I tasted wine instead and the good food enjoyed (even my potjie as edible) worked towards adding to my whale weight. It was a great weekend and we had so much fun and laughs that the one bike ride on Saturday morning might as well been seen as just body cleansing of toxic fluids. Let’s go camping!

 

I can’t wait for the weekend to catch up with all my mates and people one has befriended at W2W over the years. Thinus travel safe and let’s make this one and event to remember and make sure Rob and Marius does not get to taste that tub of ice cream of success!

As at most camping trips cold liquid was enjoyed

As at most camping trips cold liquid was enjoyed

Fire and a potjie as we waited for the wind...

Fire and a potjie as we waited for the wind…

The yummy contents of the potjie (No it was not banting friendly)

The yummy contents of the potjie (No it was not banting friendly)

A Zebra was spotted in the campsite #NoComment

A Zebra was spotted in the campsite #NoComment

A plan was made to watch the rugby (and then we lost)

A plan was made to watch the rugby (and then we lost)

Don't worry Evert, only the adults went wine tasting

Don’t worry Evert, only the adults went wine tasting

4 thoughts on “W2W – Going for number 5

Leave a Reply

