Feeling that passion again

Even the cold winter rain in Cape Town is not dampening the enthusiasm to get back into a lean mean mountain biking machine. No but seriously, after going through a bit of a slump and not enjoying my riding I’m loving it again and is super keen to be fit and in great shape again. I know it will take commitment but the balance needs to be there in enjoying life as well, yes it means enjoying a braai and a cold beer with my mates.

There are many routes along the slopes with splendous views over the Cape Town City Bowl

There are many routes along the slopes with splendous views over the Cape Town City Bowl

With the Tokai Forest on my doorstep going through rehabilitation after the devastating fires from earlier in the year, and only opening up to the public towards the end of 2016, I had to find an alternative playground. I can’t believe it took me 5 years of living in Cape Town before I discovered that riding on the slopes of Table Mountain. Mainly jeep tracks and loads of climbing this is the perfect riding area to build on strength and endurance and of course the spectacular views makes all the climbing worthwhile. I’m really enjoying it to be out there as with the lack of daylight and winter rain it is difficult to force oneself to go out and ride alone in the dark and rain, thus the Virgin Active gym visits per month is increasing and when the opportunity is there to be outdoors, it’s really appreciated and even the 1700m climbing of the 60km ride from my house is done with a smile on my face. So when you have the opportunity go out experience the splendour of riding on one of the 7 Wonders of the World. Find details of the MTB routes on Table Mountain by clicking here:

The view from the Block House up table Mountain

The view from the Block House up table Mountain

Spending more time in the gym means that one can focus on that important strength work, including the tedious core exercise that will pay benefits when the sun is shining more frequently and the challenging trails are ahead of you.

For my friends in the Northern Hemisphere, enjoy your summer and make use of all the days you have to ride whilst we will cherish every day that arise with beautiful weather that allows us to be outdoors, be it on the bike, running, walking your dogs or chasing your cats.
Riding on Monday (on the tar nogal) I also experienced the benefit of having tubeless tyres as I must have rode some or other sharp object (and no it was not the sharp mind of my cycling buddy) as the hole sealed eventually and we could continue the ride home without having to put in a tube, fantastic! Lesson learnt here is to allow enough time for the sealant to seal and dry in the hole before you continue riding. Be sure you top up the sealant in your tyre if you deem that you lost a lot of liquid in the sealing process, which is super easy to do or just take your bike to your local bike shop and you are ready for the next ride.
Here are some tips from Bike Boo Boos on tubeless tyres

Until the next time, and hopefully the break before posting on the blog won’t be that long again.

Great day out on the bike this last Monday and it was super cool to ride with my first 3 Wines2Whales partner Evert Ferreira. Good to have you back on the bike!

Great day out on the bike this last Monday and it was super cool to ride with my first 3 Wines2Whales partner Evert Ferreira. Good to have you back on the bike!

The Big Boys of Marius Hurter, myself and Rob Kucera at the recent Absa Cape Epic sponsors ride at Meerendal. Living the brands and we made full use of the 'water' points supplied on the wine farm. #Mitas #KTM

The Big Boys of Marius Hurter, myself and Rob Kucera at the recent Absa Cape Epic sponsors ride at Meerendal. Living the brands and we made full use of the ‘water’ points supplied on the wine farm. #Mitas #KTM

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.