Chasing “Die Windhond”

Now “Die Windhond” or translated to Queens English, The Greyhound, is a nickname we in our cycling friends group have given my riding partner Thinus Crafford. Why you would ask, well it is quite apparent, once he is released he disappears off into the distance like a Greyhound chasing a fake tasteless rabbit on a race track and there is no stopping him. Don’t get me wrong I am not dissing my friend, he is a great riding partner and has loads of patience to hold back and wait for the whale who is currently in a rebuilding phase, well okay on a weight loosing and fitness regaining phase and it is always great to ride with TC (and for that matter all my other mates). It must be tough on “Die Windhond” to be caged and held back when all you want to do is speed of at full tilt once the starting gates have opened. So respect to my mate.

Chasing "Die Windhond" and catching him - inconceivable

Chasing “Die Windhond” and catching him – inconceivable

So why I am bringing this matter up and posting it to go viral, it is my commitment to try and catch up with him. To go back to all the things I posted and preached here on training discipline, commitment and eating right, but all in balance with not taking out the enjoyment factor of training, being fit and mountain biking with friends. After trying to keep up these last two weekends at the Arabella Challenge and Houw Hoek Tour, I realised I better get my act together again. Will I ever catch up with “Die Windhond”, I don’t know but I am sure as hell going to try. Apparently, according to cycling fundi Shaun Roos I don’t push myself to the extremes that I can, Have Shaun not heard of the energy management philosophy I cycling by… (Always have some in reserve you never know when you might need it, no need to cycle up a 20degree climb at 100% max heart rate, but I do get his point which I just choose to ignore)

Always there when riding

Always there when riding

11182053_10152651473736618_9163748322261090442_n

These two are nuts

Back to me trying to catch up with The Greyhound, I present Newton’s Second Law: Newton’s second law of motion pertains to the behaviour of objects for which all existing forces are not balanced. The second law states that the acceleration of an object is dependent upon two variables – the net force acting upon the object and the mass of the object. The acceleration of an object depends directly upon the net force acting upon the object, and inversely upon the mass of the object. As the force acting upon an object is increased, the acceleration of the object is increased. As the mass of an object is increased, the acceleration of the object is decreased.
Simply put, if Thinus and I am cycling, pedalling with the same force, the 30kg that I am heavier than him will affect the acceleration or speed I will be moving at than he, as a light weight will be accelerating or moving at. So for me to keep up with his speed I would need to use more force, which would take more energy (we are moving into E=MC² territory here) and with energy depletion I would have to be super, super fit to maintain that over the normal mountain biking distances ridden and thus back to my energy management philosophy. Either I get quickly halfway or I go at a sustainable pace to the end and enjoy the ride…

Where the legend of "Die Windhond" all began

Where the legend of “Die Windhond” all began

Anyway I am working hard to bring down the mass equilibrium whilst increasing the force to be able to catch that fake rabbit on the dog track trails and then “Die Windhond” so we could kick some butt again come the Ride2Nowhere and Berg & Bush mountain bike rides later in the year. Will I ever catch “Die Windhond”? Unless he suddenly puts on 30kg and/or drink a barrel of wine before a race, I don’t think so. What I do know,  is that I will be on the trails and I know he will be there as well as we go on our 2015 mountain biking adventures. Perhaps not always in the same time zone, but on the same trails, enjoying that we are able to explore and experience chasing anything but fake rabbits in the great outdoors.

What cycling friends do in the bush, even "Die Windhond" made it onto this phot

What cycling friends do in the bush, even “Die Windhond” made it onto this photo

Leave a Reply

