It is what it is ;)

The heading is especially for my friend Nikki.

The time is now and as I am typing this blog post a I’m slightly concerned that I might not be prepared sufficiently for the Cape Town Cycle Tour MTB event this Sunday and the road race on the 8th of March. That rolling over in bed option rather than getting out on the bike seems to have won more than it should have, and if you weight challenged like me you need all the quality preparation you can get when entering these events. Anyway, never having been scared of a challenge (besides going on blind dates) I should be ready to rock and roll or is that push and pedal…

 

We have a bike display at The Westin Cape Town for the period of the Cape Town Cycle Tour and Absa Cape Epic - go check it out if you can

We have a bike display at The Westin Cape Town for the period of the Cape Town Cycle Tour and Absa Cape Epic – go check it out if you can. Some great prizes to be won

I blame having send my mountain bike in for some tender loving care and being a week without it for not getting out there, not feeling the road bike vibe and bored of the gym has made me reluctant to be active. I know, lame excuse.  Eating habits have also not been great.

 

The next few weeks will be busy with all the activation around the events of the Cape Town Cycle Tour and the Absa Cape Epic and hopefully the Cape Doctor would not be blowing too bad over this period.  Good luck to everyone participating in these events and I hope your preparation & training has been good.

 

Fantastic to see my tyre brand as official tyre supplier of the Absa Cape Epic. Rubena (Mitas)

Fantastic to see my tyre brand as official tyre supplier of the Absa Cape Epic. Rubena (Mitas)

So I have also been trying the running thing, outdoors that it, on an on and off basis and I’ve realised just how tough I have made it for myself by not being too active over recent years and especially running. Running always meant knee and back pain for me, and to confess, that has not changed at all is I have fought through numerous painful experiences of back and knee(s), coupled with tight calves and sore ankles in trying to get this whale body into running shape – a running event looms in the near future. Don’t want to reveal too much for fear of failure – but you know I will try and push all the way to do it. Can’t change anything up to know, the training is (was) what it is and can only go out and do it.

 

“Whether you think you can or think you can’t, you’re right.”
~ Henry Ford

Harvesting in Tokai forest has limited access to the trails

Harvesting in Tokai forest has limited access to the trails

Celebrated my birthday on my bike in the forest (before the Cape Town 10's and cold beer option were explored in the afternoon. Wasn't a good day for my diet)

Celebrated my birthday on my bike in the forest (before the Cape Town 10’s and cold beer option were explored in the afternoon. Wasn’t a good day for my diet)

One thought on “It is what it is ;)

Leave a Reply

