The Nut House…

Stranded on the side of the road with broken chain not much fun, at least I got to say howzit to Dave Bellairs traing for the Unogwaja Challenge (www.unogwajachallenge.com)

Stranded on the side of the road with broken chain not much fun, at least I got to say howzit to Dave Bellairs traing for the Unogwaja Challenge (www.unogwajachallenge.com)

Stardate 92679.49, the day the world have changed forever. Not sure if it is something I ate, or all the bumps on my head from playing rugby or just plain stupidity. It seems that I somehow got myself into running the Old Mutual Two Oceans Half Marathon – more like half crazy – WTF. Talking about crazy, the reason I’m probably going to be running, well shuffling through it is because the mad hatters of Vik Norval and Richard Walker (The boys from Creative Workshop) are doing it, and I just could not let these two be out there alone. The world, in this case, the runners, need protection from these two individuals. Good on ya boys, now don’t pull out as you will then force me to do the same. Many years we worked at there, now we can be demanding afterwards. And no Vik, we will not start the run with a Tequila, on the other hand maybe I should speak to my mates at Red Bull….Tequila Red Bull to start with…

 

STOP, before you go that route; I won’t stop mountain biking. That is still my preferred choice of burning fat of this athlete in trainings body, the best way! Further details will follow as we will actually be running for a cause as well. Yes Shane Colloty, you might see the irony in that once announced – exclusively on this blog.

I know it is different running, but perhaps Ryan Sandes would have some pointers for me, because 21km would be a serious endurance run for me. Yes I know, just lose another 15kg’s. But seriously, any advice will do, as per a previous blog, I just started with 5km runs and that is still extremely painful. I have to use the Sklz foam roller intensively to remove the stiffness in those extremely powerful, and well build mountain bike calves of mine. Did someone say stretching…

 

On a lighter side, got back on the road bike last weekend where we started at The Westin Cape Town and did a circle route to the Southern Peninsula with Rob and Thinus. The weather was great, the company was great and the ride was going well, that is until, the abovementioned calves was also too strong for a road bike chain. Result – broken chain at the start of the climb on Chapman’s Peak on the way back to Cape Town. There was no ways I was going to miss the planned breakfast at The Westin with a Weiss Bier I could taste at 6am already when we started the ride (Thanks for the breakfast Rob) Thanks Willie for coming out to fetch me all the way out and for Belia to allow you to drive that far out of Camps Bay. Anyway, the chain break could also have been the result of my chain not having been cleaned in probably 6 to 7 months, or who knows since when.

Colourful on top of Chappies with Thinus Crafford, Rob Kucera and myself (the white is not flattering or flattening my stomach)

Colourful on top of Chappies with Thinus Crafford, Rob Kucera and myself (the white is not flattering or flattening my stomach)

No Phat Boys here to block the view

No Phat Boys here to block the view

Rookie mistake, so here it is: how to look after your road bike chain:

“When mechanics talk about lubing a chain, what we mean is adding lubrication in between the side plates and under the center roller. Lube any place else serves no positive purpose. Unless you consider a grotesquely embarrassing mess a positive. Anytime you lube your chain you should let it soak in for a few minutes and wipe off as much of the excess as possible. Then wipe the chain off again after your ride. And again after the next ride. There’s no need to add more lube until your chain starts squeaking.” http://www.bicycling.com/maintenance/repair-maintenance/3-super-easy-things-your-bike-mechanic-wishes-you-would-do

No tar in sight!

No tar in sight on this KTM!

Leave a Reply

