The Running Whale

Imagine this – a BIG killer whale swim casually out of the ocean and then starts running onto Terra Firma (imagine it has legs). Have you pictured that yet? Well that was me this festive season as I suddenly and without prior notice realised my clothes have shrunk and in desperation I convinced myself to run… not sure though if it can be called running or even jogging – picture that BIG killer whale trying to run again – get the picture?  Sing it! “Every day I’m shuffling”

 

When one has time out on the mountain

When one has time out on the mountain

Early morning riding in Tokai

Early morning riding in Tokai

One forgets how easily one can fall back into old habits of, well eating too much and not sticking to portions, you know when the food really tastes good and you want more. Damn all those that cooked over the Festive Season and also those that introduced me to a certain brand of Ice Cream. Damn you! Oh and to all those that kept the beers ice cold for consumption, not sure you are my real friends anymore, all the braai’s and lazy summer sunny holiday days; it could be the reasons I gained some weight or what I believe is more likely is that my clothes shrunk over this period.

 

Enough of that, back to the result of running, believe it or not myself and my brother in law, Dirk Sieling went on the first (of only 4 so far) 5km runs the day after Christmas. Since then I have not been able to climb stairs properly as the Hulk has grabbed onto my calves and is still holding them tight in his hands – stiffness and pain galore. But I haven’t given up as I believe in changing up my cycling and training routine and jogging will be part of it going forward. To a limited degree of course as it will never replace mountain biking (Which I also did plenty of during the Festive Season).

 

How difficult it was to lose all that weight, so easy it seems it is to put it back on if one does not keep watch of what, or even more important, how much you eat even if you train and is still super fit. So my commitment for 2015 is to ‘un’ shrunk my clothes and get back to that epic shape I was in a year ago.

 

Having more time available (when not out eating too much food and enjoying a cold beverage) was fantastic which meant one could go riding whenever one wanted to, which I did whilst still eating too much. One could say my shrunken clothes are self-inflicted. Thanks to everyone that joined me on rides this holiday and to Dirk for actually running /shuffling twice with me.

 

Here is to wishing everyone a fantastic and fit 2015 and remember anything is possible if you put your mind to it, or stop going for that second helping, that also helps. And then a week after the Cape Town Cycle Tour, it seems I need to find events to keep me busy in February.

 

Next event is the Cape Town Cycle Tour MTB on the 1st of March and hopefully by then I will be in pristine shape that does not include round.

Great quick ride from Cape Town up Chapmans peak and back with Willie du Plooy

Great quick ride from Cape Town up Chapmans peak and back with Willie du Plooy

Thinus Crafford took me on a hill climb ride of note. Strava climb challenge nearly done in 1 ride

Thinus Crafford took me on a hill climb ride of note. Strava climb challenge nearly done in 1 ride

That hilly ride Thinus Crafford took me on

That hilly ride Thinus Crafford took me on

Always beautiful at Silvermine Dam (Which I must probably go swimming in again soon)

Always beautiful at Silvermine Dam (Which I must probably go swimming in again soon)

Good to have had my mate Evert Ferreira back out on the bike again (Now is he one of those that had all those cold beverages in stock...?)

Good to have had my mate Evert Ferreira back out on the bike again (Now is he one of those that had all those cold beverages in stock…?)

Leave a Reply

