That missing drive…

The last two weeks has been something of a hiatus from exercise for me, not to lack of time, but lack of drive – missing that goal to work towards in training. Not that being healthy and fit and NOT FAT again should not be a goal, because it is, it is just that edge, motivation and drive to push yourself again that is lacking. Maybe having to go to extremes is what I need.

 

On Strava they have this new Freshness and Fitness tracker and one can clearly see that our winter was not good for me and that I have not reach the fitness levels again as in training for the Absa Cape Epic. Maybe I must enter again and find a sponsor or offer unnamed services in selling my soul to raise the amount of riding the Cape Epic again…

Good luck to everyone in training for that now as I do know it takes a lot of commitment and dedication.

 

I must have been super fit in March, because I am fairly fit now!

I must have been super fit in March, because I am fairly fit now!

This past weekend our little cycling group went for an early morning ride on the Tygerberg Mountain Bike trails, and that post a braai on the Friday, so the body and mind were not in total pristine riding condition – “everyday I’m suffering…”. But besides the performance limited non-enhancing substances of the previous night, what a lekker (great) ride and I just realised how much I enjoy being out on the bike, with friends and just riding and not racing. Good for the soul and hard on those quads up the climbs. We did encounter some free protein on the Hoogekraal section as it seems the whole of the Western Cape fly community converge onto this section and no it was not me who swallowed some free protein, I will not name names.

 

The KTM Boys on the Tygerberg Mountain Bike Trails: Willie 'I magically appeared in this photo' du Plooy, Rob 'Olympic' Kucera, Thinus 'The Greyhound' Crafford and myself

The KTM Boys on the Tygerberg Mountain Bike Trails: Willie ‘I magically appeared in this photo’ du Plooy, Rob ‘Olympic’ Kucera, Thinus ‘The Greyhound’ Crafford and myself

The early sunrise and late sunset is ideal to get in those riding hours in the week, must just now go out and do it. Evert Ferreira please get your damn bike now! I need a riding partner in the southern suburbs. Oh and of course I am not in training for the Absa Cape Epic so I am back to being a Fair Weather Cyclist, which means no riding in the howling South Easter blowing at 30-40km/h. No need for discomfort.

 

Sometimes you have to force yourself to get out there and active. Not a bad view and once out there you actually do feel great

Sometimes you have to force yourself to get out there and active. Not a bad view and once out there you actually do feel great

So seeing that all my blog readers are super fit already and I don’t need to motivate or help with advice on how to keep going, I decided to add something for my grimy mountain bike friends, helmet cleaning, bicycle helmet cleaning – when last did you clean yours?

I realised on Sunday as I forced myself to go for another ride after the long ride on Saturday, that my helmet might need some tender care, because the only cleaning it has experienced in who know since when, was the gallons of sweat perspiring of my head. Yuck! So my friend Google helped with a simple thing and here are some tips on cleaning your cycling helmet:

·         Leave the pads in for an easy wash. Simply give it a good hand swab in the sink with mild soap (like dish detergent) and cool water. Rinse with clean, cold water.

·         Take it into the shower with you after a ride. Scrub your body and helmet with a basic shampoo, being sure to rinse out all the suds. Now that’s a good time! When you and your lid are cleansed, let the latter air-dry. Do what you will with your own sorry hide.

·         If your helmet feels gritty, get new pads. That’s a great way to make it feel like new again.

·         Never dry your helmet in the clothes dryer with your skivvies or in the microwave with your lunch-it’ll severely weaken the shell and bonding materials. Avoid all solvents and harsh, petroleum-based cleaning materials-they’ll weaken the helmet by attacking the foam and shell. Don’t sticker up the shell-many adhesives will weaken it, rendering the helmet unsafe.

·         Helmet manufacturers recommend replacing an un-crashed, regularly used helmet approximately every three years because continuous exposure to sunlight and constant absorption of sweat will compromise the materials.

Source: http://www.bicycling.com/bikes-gear/bikes-and-gear-features/brush-your-bonnet

 

So stop being so filthy and go clean that dirty helmet, unless you are super cool and don’t perspire

Leave a Reply

