Two Triathlons and a Wedding – and W2W tapering …

The past weekend was probably not the best preparation for me leading up the FNB Wines2Whales Adventure this weekend as first off I attended the 2015 Absa Cape Epic Route Launch at The Westin Cape Town, which turned out to be a great evening with, as you guessed, too much red wine and a late night. Fortunate I had the experience to stay over at The Westin, so no driving with red blood in the veins, you see responsible. The obvious result of this endeavour was no training Thursday and Friday.

2015 Absa Cape Epic Route launch was a spectacular affair and I was not envious of those that have to climb 16,000m next year. Good luck Rob and Andrew, I know you will do it!

2015 Absa Cape Epic Route launch was a spectacular affair and I was not envious of those that have to climb 16,000m next year. Good luck Rob and Andrew, I know you will do it!

With KTM Bicycles we are involved with Iqela Events and the Slanghoek Triathlon (Mountain Bike and Road) took place on Saturday and Sunday. Now, not to do totally nothing I enter the long Mountain Biking long triathlon – AND NO! DON’T get excited, I entered in a team as I am still not doing the swimming bit (my triathlon buddies haven’t convinced me yet to jump in the water and seeing people forcing their bodies into tight fitting wet suits, I am convinced that that is not for me).

First time ever I had to pack a suit and a mountain bike

First time ever I had to pack a suit and a mountain bike

Probably one of the most beautiful settings for any event (Photo Credit - Me ;) )

Probably one of the most beautiful settings for any event (Photo Credit – Me 😉 )

So up at 4am to drive through to the venue, setup our bike display and get ready with team members Jörg and Leanne Knorr for the big challenge. Still feeling the effects of red wine in my blood I started to ride taken over from Leanne with a great swim and suffered my way around the Slanghoek Mountain that ended with ridiculously tight climbing switchbacks before giving over to Jörg for the run. In the end we ended top 5 in the teams… ja ok, there were only 11 teams, but top 5 is top 5!

Now that was Triathlon 1 done so on to the next phase of the weekend, the hour drive back to Durbanville and the Sandes wedding where super Ultra Distance Runner Ryan “Hedge Hog” Sandes and Vanessa Haywood (Local celeb, model and District 9 actress) got married at Nitida Wine Farm. So, all suited up I head off to the ceremony.

Suit Selfie

Suit Selfie

Bride Selfie (Ryan you didn't mind I hope?)

Bride Selfie (Ryan you didn’t mind I hope?)

I won’t bore you too much with how pretty the bride look, the awesome setting and how a beautiful wedding that was (you can read all about it in this weeks You Magazine or watch Top Billing on SABC3) and the fun time with new friends made and catching up with acquaintances and friends from the industry, even played Croquet (in a suit nogal) which was great fun. The evening flew by as the Red Bull bar was in operation and for those that know me there was also Tequila available – enough said as the wedding celebration moved into the early hours of Sunday morning. (And yes the tie and jacket came off early in the evening)

Now for the 2nd triathlon, yes the same Sunday! With numerous milliliters of Red Bull in my lean and mean mountain biking racing body, and with a dash of Tequila, sleep was hard to kick in, so early morning I decided to get in my car and drive back to Slanghoek for the road triathlon. Don’t get excited, I am not a fool or stupid, we did NOT enter the road triathlon. Who would do that the day after a wedding, and gladly I did not as the heat set into the valley and the lack of sleep took its toll during the day of representing my brand and watching friends participate (super proud Chantel) and KTM sponsored athlete Vicky van der Merwe win the event. A BIG mention to legend Jan du Toit for helping me out this weekend at the Slanghoek Triathlon, appreciate it Jan.

Thanks Leanne Knorr for swimming and making it possible to participate in the triathlon

Thanks Leanne Knorr for swimming and making it possible to participate in the triathlon

Jörg Knorr smashing it on the run. Thanks for the running part and helping out over the weekend

Jörg Knorr smashing it on the run. Thanks for the running part and helping out over the weekend

I did make a foolish statement during the day though as play on my mind was training for Wines2Whales and staying in shape and tip top form for the event as I said: “I will go for a quick ride this afternoon”. Needless to say this did not happen as my tired body, deprive of Red Bull by now just crashed on the couch and that elusive sleep struck me down. Rest at last.

It is probably not the best preparation and tapering leading up towards the event (one of my favourites) but I will have to take it as it comes. I know I will be rested. When competing or in my case, participating in an event one must try and be rested and not fatigued by too much training. I think, or sincerely hope, that I have managed to do that in between all the social events and lighter training schedule, as you all know by know that my Greyhound riding partner, Thinus Crafford, is slightly faster than me on a bike. But hey, here is to enjoying FNB Wines2Whales and to all those riding have fun out on the trails and be sure to be tapered properly – check this article out on tapering.

The next time I have to wear a suit will be quicker than you all think, so watch this space and no selfie this time. At least for wearing a suit you just have to taper mentally. Okay, I will say it in a public forum: Congratulations to Western Province for winning the 2015 ABSA Currie Cup.

*And no Nikki, I am not wearing a suit to the wine club Christmas party!

Two inspirational personalities and friends. Chantel Rall having overcome Cancer, having done Iron Man SA and now going for it a 2nd time. Our champion for Slanghoek, Vicky van der Merwe, well done and all the best for the Rio 2016 dream. You will be there!

Two inspirational personalities and friends. Chantel Rall having overcome Cancer, having done Iron Man SA and now going for it a 2nd time. Our champion for Slanghoek, Vicky van der Merwe, well done and all the best for the Rio 2016 dream. You will be there!

Oops, this can be out before the You Magazine

Oops, this can be out before the You Magazine

 

Leave a Reply

