Writers Block

Now I know I haven’t been updating this blog as regularly as I should be, I am so focussed on getting ready to ride Berg & Bush and Wines2Whales that these fingers seems to be clutched around my brakes on my bike rather than typing on a keyboard.

It has been strange for me to keep on pushing as last year this time I was sort of just beginning to think about training for the Absa Cape Epic and had certain dedicated goals as in fitness and weight loss. Now I’m still focussed, but do miss that planned and scheduled training regime provided by Coach Swen Lauer (Who by the way has opened a new Mountain Bike Training School, check it out: www.pedal2medal.co.za )

Crazy times riding with Swen and Heiko

Crazy times riding with Swen and Heiko

Recently I did the Ride2Nowhere, a 3 day mountain bike event in McGregor in the Western Cape, which will become a regular on my riding (note – not racing) calendar. It’s a fantastic weekend away and always good to have friends go with to share in the consumption of the Lord’s Shiraz.

Next up was the BRAIT Grace to Grace in the Magaliesberg, Mount Grace Country Hotel and Spa, an awesome venue and always a pleasure to stay there. The one challenge on this race was sucking in the thin air at altitude and clever boys we were, myself and Thinus Crafford to go for an acclimatisation ride the Friday afternoon before the race. Now those who knows a bit about mountain biking would appreciate me having to suddenly climb 200m is the first few kilometres of this warm-up ride with lugging 110kg’s with you – well that being you yourself. Great weekend and once again red wine was the order of the day which leaves me with the next challenge as we head to Berg & Bush – there is NO WINE FARM IN THE DRAKENSBERG! What to do?

Sucking in the thin air at Brait Grace2Grace - back in the Bushveld

Sucking in the thin air at Brait Grace2Grace – back in the Bushveld

I have also become a master of boxing a bike, so perhaps I should do a feature on that. Travel tips of what to take with and how the effectively box your bike when flying – I’ll leave that for another day.
Riding over the weekend with Willie & Thinus we encounter our first slithering creature, well the two of them rode over/past it without noticing and here is where it pays to be the slower one in the cycling herd of mates – they wake them up and you spot them to avoid them or just $$$$ yourself.

Anyway will keep you posted as we head into summer with warmer weather and longer days to enjoy. Have fun living healthy and keeping fit. Fortunately I am only suffering from Writers Block and not Riders Block otherwise my partner would be very frustrated with me going nowhere. (And don’t tell him I had a Weiss Bier at The Westin Cape Town the other day…beautiful and highly recommended with their famous burgers)

PS: In our friend circle we are racing for the Giro d’Amici (Cup of friendship) – fortunately I have the ‘Windhond’ aka Greyhound Crafford on my team.

Oh and by the 20th I might actually be thin and skinny as my light riding schedule is a Slanghoek MTB this Saturday, Tuesday to Thursday the Berg & Bush Great Trek and finishing it off on Sunday the 19th with the PPA One Tonner of 163km on the road with Chantel Rall = dehydration = beer at the Toad

KTM Bikes parked in a row for a coffee break at Meerendal Wine Estate

KTM Bikes parked in a row for a coffee break at Meerendal Wine Estate

Look! A WHOLE bunch of cyclist behind me, I'm not last!

Look! A WHOLE bunch of cyclist behind me, I’m not last!

The KTM Boys and the Greyhound - What a story to tell - Watch this space!

The KTM Boys and the Greyhound – What a story to tell – Watch this space!

Circles in the sa...bush AHEAD of Cyclist AGAIN!

Circles in the sa…bush AHEAD of Cyclist AGAIN!

Leave a Reply

