Putting in the hard work

With the Ride2Nowhere in McGregor happening this week from Friday I had to put in some strategic cycling last week to ensure the legs are strong and ready for action come the word go on Friday morning. And after my Europe trip and Weiss Bier that normally goes hand in hand with going to Germany the commitment and sacrifice training wise was required.

 

For the fun of David, Johan and Morné decided to ride up Möggers Climb (Sigmarszell, Germany) with me in tow, very slow, 418m climbing in 4.9km - I made it though. This is the view from the top

For the fun of David, Johan and Morné decided to ride up Möggers Climb (Sigmarszell, Germany) with me in tow, very slow, 418m climbing in 4.9km – I made it though. This is the view from the top

The week in numbers then, just below 6000m of climbing in 250km of cycling, a combination of Mountain Biking and Road Riding to build strength in the legs and work on the endurance to ensure I can keep up with my partner, well ok, let us be brutally honest, to ensure he doesn’t have to wait too long for me at the climbs and on the route in general. Thinus, remember the Ride2Nowhere is for fun and enjoyment and the race against the ‘other two’ secondary. To be honest this is one of the riding weekends I look forward to in the cycling year and if you haven’t joined us at the 2014 event, be sure you enter the 2015 Ride2Nowhere (http://ride2nowhere.co.za/ ). I can wait to see what the event organisers Eulogy van Dyk and Con Viljoen have come up with for us this year. Well done so far guys and here is wishing you all the success for the coming weekend.

 

If climbing in Germany/Austria wasn't enough I put myself through a week of tough training in preparation for the Ride2Nowhere

If climbing in Germany/Austria wasn’t enough I put myself through a week of tough training in preparation for the Ride2Nowhere

With Spring in the air it is so much easier to get out and ride, it is light earlier and the sun sets later, although still cool you don’t experience Eskimo room temperature anymore when you go out at 5am. Best of all, I can already feel the weight shedding off my winter food fed body.

 

As most know I attended the 2014 Eurobike show 2 weeks ago and it was totally insane. To comprehend how big the world cycling market is one needs to attend this show and to realise how small a portion the South African market is, is scary. It was quite an experience, besides attending the show and occassionaly perusing through cycling related stands, it was great to see parts of Europe I haven’t seen before and exploring the Bodensee area at the border of Germany, Austria and Switzeland on bicycle. The Europeans are just geared for cyclists and the road user so considerate to actually see cyclists as co road users – if only. The whole trip was truly planes, trains and automobiles, oh and bicycles…

 

Now to stay disciplined and enjoy the Ride2Nowhere in McGregor with consuming the award winning Lord’s red win in moderation to not hold back Thinus Crafford in our Giro d’amici challenge with the Westin 2015 Absa Cape Epic riders and of course for the Grace2Grace, Berg & Bush and Wines2Whales that still lies ahead.

 

Come on summer!

 

PS: New research has apparently shown that exercise and red wine combined (red or white wine in moderation) is actually good for you as it improves cardiac health and lowers cholesterol – http://www.outsideonline.com/news-from-the-field/study-says-wine-benefits-athletes.html

Oh and I wonder if we will be lucky enough to attend the 2015 Absa Cape Epic route launch to be held at the fantastic The Westin Cape Town – http://www.cape-epic.com/news/624/?linkId=9511861

The outdoor harbour theater in Bregenz in Austria as part of their Summer holiday celebrations - impressive

The outdoor harbour theater in Bregenz in Austria as part of their Summer holiday celebrations – impressive

On the way back from exploring Lindau, Germany

On the way back from exploring Lindau, Germany

Prost! As always the Weiss Bier is a weakness and a reason to go to Germany

Prost! As always the Weiss Bier is a weakness and a reason to go to Germany

Lindau on bike. Yes I was on a hardtail, awesome bike the 2015 Aera 29 Comp

Lindau on bike. Yes I was on a hardtail, awesome bike the 2015 Aera 29 Comp

S-Bahn and Saffas take over with 4 boxed bikes during the peak hour rush

S-Bahn and Saffas take over with 4 boxed bikes during the peak hour rush

NO! This was closed at 9am in the morning and the church is 50 meters up the road

NO! This was closed at 9am in the morning and the church is 50 meters up the road

UVEX to keep my head safe, you know to protect the little sanity I still posess

UVEX to keep my head safe, you know to protect the little sanity I still posess

Great to catch up with Pavel at Rubena tyres, you know the tyres that keeps me firmly grounded on my bike and makes sure this body has sufficient grip to stay on the bike

Great to catch up with Pavel at Rubena tyres, you know the tyres that keeps me firmly grounded on my bike and makes sure this body has sufficient grip to stay on the bike

Catching up with the brothers from GripGrab gloves

Catching up with the brothers from GripGrab gloves – I Never Lose Grip

Leave a Reply

