When there is just water…

Now those that know me know that over the last few months a have had some seriously bad luck with my geyser at home and seeing that this is Friday the 13th we can talk about bad luck. This week I attended the Absa Cape Epic sponsors ride and dinner at Steenberg Golf Estate and was ecstatic to be able to go for a mountain bike ride in the week and not be stuck in the office. Having my brother-in-law with Morné van Greunen from exxaro / Cycle Lab Pretoria on the ride, as well as the potential 2015 Absa Cape Epic riders of Rob Kucera and Andrew Rogers made this ride even more enjoyable. It’s a great bunch of guys and to spend time together on the mountain bike and in my back yard in Tokai made for a great afternoon of riding (And all of us are KTM bicycle rides, just saying).

Riding through Faerie Garden in Tokai with Johan and Morné

Riding through Faerie Garden in Tokai with Johan and Morné (Photo from the Absa Cape Epic taken by Greg Beadle)

Now it being the rainy season on Cape Town there is water everywhere and the pessimistic (realistic) self, decided that I can’t risk not training on the day as I thought the ride might get cancelled after the endless rain we experienced in the lead up days. So 05:15 spin class for an hour, 40 minutes of weight training and then no ride cancellation and an hour 20 ride in the afternoon. A proper days training, I could have been a pro. So after all that the ice cold Castle Lite draught tasted sweet with abovementioned friends (And if only Craig Kolesky haven’t decided to break his chain).
Now being a lead rider was quite an unique and first experience for me as you all know of my exploits and taking my time to finish an event, at the rear end of the field (except when riding with Thinus Crafford and me chasing to keep up, just ask Marius Hurter). So I took the boys down the Tokai single track having to make sure I stay on the bike and for the non-Cape Tonians they are not used to the slippery roots in Tokai – so much responsibility to keep them save, I even broke a sweat. (That could have been because of all the layers I wore for the cold, always be prepared for the worse). Water was streaming everywhere in Tokai and it was a pity we didn’t have more time to take the boys to all the routes up in Tokai. This is if I could remember all as I haven’t been up there because of ALL THE RAIN. So much water and cold, as a potential pro athlete I should consider moving to warmer climates during the winter I think. I digress.

10406896_10152594480938319_2786893976842164980_n

Andrew and Rob’s first experience of Tokai Forest (Faerie Garden) and hopefully we can do another ride with them to show them more. (Photo from the Absa Cape Epic taken by Greg Beadle)

Now leaving the Absa Cape Epic ‘after’ party I was saying good bye to John Smit (you know him as the former Springbok captain and now Absa Cape Epic finisher) and clearly the Cape Town weather has affected John’s mind, I say water on the brain, as told me “See you next year” – meaning riding the 2015 Absa Cape Epic (unless, miraculously Thinus finds us a sponsor), no pressure) . Madness I tell you! I came to this realisation when after a few glasses of red wine at the function my geyser decided to let me have a cold shower to bring me to my senses, no Absa Cape Epic thoughts – WAKE UP! I’m sure I will see John at some race in the future.
Talking about water on the brain, it is official I am riding Wines2Whales with Thinus, which means I have to keep on training and maybe in the rain. It seems that Thinus for fun go ride a quick 20km with 700m of climbing, for fun and do climbing loops – madness! And yes it forces me to keep on training. The infrequent training has helped my knee to recover (as a true sportsman you never reveal your weakness, in my case the left knee and oh shoot (nice word I used, could have used a different one), I just did. Having struggled with my back as well at the Darling Extreme a visit to the chiropractor and masseuse sorted that out for a bit. I still blame the bad knee for the lower back pain as I transfer my cycling cadence away from the leg and use my back or so they claim, maybe it is just old age and a hookers disease, NOT that kind of hooker, we are talking sport here – rugby.
Anyway with the following events lined up Die Burger Mountain Bike Challenge, Ride2Nowhere, Arabella Challenge, Grace2Grace, Berg and Bush Great Trek and Wines2Whales Adventure I am confident that I will keep and improve on my current body shape and I can’t let the Sedentary Sloth beat me in weight loss and fitness.
As an Aquarius I must just do my job and carry this water through the winter and keep on training.
And I won’t be Banting!

PS: I am suppose to do the Liberty Duo Challenge this weekend, but it looks lik

Look at that descending style. Swen Lauer will be stoked with my style!  (Photo from the Absa Cape Epic taken by Greg Beadle)

Look at that descending style. Swen Lauer will be stoked with my style!
(Photo from the Absa Cape Epic taken by Greg Beadle)

e rain…

Will we see these two at the 2015 Absa Cape Epic (I I could do it ....) (Photo from the Absa Cape Epic taken by Greg Beadle)

Will we see these two at the 2015 Absa Cape Epic (I I could do it ….)
(Photo from the Absa Cape Epic taken by Greg Beadle)

Always beautiful and privileged to ride here

Always beautiful and privileged to ride here (Photo from the Absa Cape Epic taken by Greg Beadle)

Yes there was bike pushing - to get up this hill (Photo from the Absa Cape Epic taken by Greg Beadle)

Yes there was bike pushing – to get up this hill (Photo from the Absa Cape Epic taken by Greg Beadle)

2 thoughts on “When there is just water…

Leave a Reply

