Shuffle Forest, Shuffle…

There certainly was no run Forest, run – because what I did could not be call running, to be honest I wasn’t quite sure what I was thinking if I was thinking at all – run a trail run – madness! Running is not my strong point as in everything gravity and Mother Earth’s sucking power works against me, but having done so much on the bike already I decided to broaden my horizon and get off the bike. So I decided to participate in the Liberty Duo Challenge #1 at Blaauwklippen Wine Estate over the weekend.

photoNeedless to say what transpired was a painful experience, on and the days after the abovementioned event. That the trail run was flat I am still saying thank you for each day! My body did not realise it still had the running muscles as part of my anatomy and as a result went into shock sending gallons of lactic acid to that region of my lower back to remind me for days after that you might have to run a bit more…

984062_10203911191967238_3369175005489757642_n

At least my feet were comfortable on the run with my Mizuno’s providing real comfort and traction, just a pity the owner did not do them justice with a lack of speed

The mountain bike ride was short but tough, 500m climbing in 20km, but a great and challenging ride. On the run it felt like I was stick in a Black Hole. For those that don’t know: “A black hole is defined as a region of space-time from which gravity prevents anything, including light, from escaping. The theory of general relativity predicts that a sufficiently compact mass will deform space-time to form a black hole. Around a black hole, there is a mathematically defined surface called an event horizon that marks the point of no return.
In short, gravity prevented me from running comfortable, obviously linked to my light mass of 107kg and once I started the 8km run there was no point in stopping after 4km as I planned – had to finish, the point of no return once you start something. I was super disappointed when Nicola Collins passed me on the trail run as I had hoped that I would have gained more time on these pro trail runners on the mountain bike, but apparently not (that 500m climbing probably had something to do with it). It was however great to see a lot of familiar faces doing the event, short and long and even the kiddies had their own race at the Liberty Duo Challenge #1. And my Mizuno trail running shoes are now broken in so I suppose they need more running – on my feet I suppose – dammit!

So make sure you join me for the Liberty Duo Challenge #2 on 14 June 2014 at the Banhoek Conservancy hosted by Iqela Events (www.iqela-events.co.za).

The early Cape winter has made it difficult to be on the bike and most of my time now is spent like a human hamster in a glass cage, aka the gym to try and stay fit and in shape. The colder temperature has also made it more difficult to stick to the”diet” and those damn carbs. I won’t say anything about my friends and their Real Meal Revolution eating plan…apparently there is a shortage of butter in the Sun Valley area.

Until the next run…

PS: Fortunately it seems there is no photographic evidence of my running or running style.

Got a bit hot in my Skins with the 500m climbing but they did the trick and boosted my performance as the 20km was finished in dashing style and speed, for me at least

Got a bit hot in my Skins with the 500m climbing but they did the trick and boosted my performance as the 20km was finished in dashing style and speed, for me at least

2 thoughts on “Shuffle Forest, Shuffle…

  1. Does it help if I tell you that shuffling is actually better for your joints, as it puts a little less pounding and wear & tear on them than ‘beautiful’ running?

Leave a Reply

