Finding that inspiration again…

Now a month on after completion of the Absa Cape Epic I finally feel like I have found the motivation again to keep on training and riding my KTM Mountain Bike. Finding the right balance to live by post the big event has been challenging as it was so much easier to drink a few cold (lite) beers with friends and throw in a welcome back Tequila party and you know that one has consumed more litres of alcohol (in an adult responsible way) in 4 weeks than in 6 months leading up to the Absa Cape Epic – yes I have picked up a kilo or two and yes I am disappointed in that happening.
The previous two weekends saw me participate in the Arabella Challenge and Houw Hoek MTB Tour, two fantastic events with some amazing riding and climbing and post this I feel good and positive again about keeping the exercise routine going (Light like my beer). So let us start with the Arabella Challenge where climbing is the order of the day, but all in short and manageable bursts so everything is rideable, and it is here I realised that I could start pushing myself as I chased my light mate Thinus Crafford and former Springbok tight head prop Marius Hurter (not so light) up the hills. I got to get quicker… which means to get lighter.

The front row and Thinus at Arabella Challenge. Thanks for some great times on the ride Marius and Thinus

The front row and Thinus at Arabella Challenge. Thanks for some great times on the ride Marius and Thinus

Well that didn’t happen in a week as the Houw Hoek MTB Tour started last weekend so I had to be prepared to chase Thinus again up those hills (with no Marius this week as a buffer) and fortunately the climbing was less and had more technical stuff which were awesome to ride. Chuffed with myself after day one of riding every hill, riding pofadder bridge and FINALLY mastering all the switchbacks going down to Houw Hoek Inn – it was an amazing day on and off the bike. Well the whole weekend was great as spending time with great friends is always good even tough Michael and Dulcie are still waiting for their lemon meringue. I digress, so chuffed with day 1 of Houw Hoek and with the anomaly of actually having a race start without a major climb to kill my legs and back in the first few kilometres, off we sped and raced (yes I raced) towards Hermanus. This was the first time ever I completed a mountain bike stage with an average speed of over 16km/h – too fast too furious but great fun and I will be back at Houw Hoek next year.
But back to the serious stuff; remember to order lemon meringue at least 30 minutes before you order your coffee, always be on the lookout for cut off tree trunks on a single track (Thinus), make sure you split the bill and remember to drink the wine on top off the Hemel and Aarde climb. Digressing again, heading into winter and no daylight to speak of in Cape Town, cycling outdoors will be harder to do, so I am now back in the gym working on the desired 36 visits per year for my medical aid, I even started running on the treadmill and can manage a snails’ pace of jogging for 20 minutes (I need to do this to keep up with my friend Nikki who recently at the age of, oh shoot I can reveal her age, got introduced to exercise. New words in her vocabulary includes: gym, walking, treadmill, towel, water bottle, tights (Skins I presume), tekkies (Mizuno of course), heart rate, circuit training, fitness assessment, recovery, lactic acid, muscles and a few more words, unfortunately I heading towards the end of the blog and has to stop now. Go Nix! The discipline of eating right and exercise will pay off and now that I have found my way back there – to have a balance between eating right, exercise and (lite) beer in moderation and riding my mountain bike for fun.

Look! You can see the mountain, oh and I'm actually smiling in a photo (collectable)

Look! You can see the mountain, oh and I’m actually smiling in a photo (collectable)

I still haven’t decided on the next challenge will be as I just can’t get my head around having to swim. My swimming issues are well documented so we won’t go into that perhaps I should also see head doctor Henning Gericke as it seems somehow he got the Stormers to win a game again (not that I really care, my blood is light (like my beer) blue.
So, no excuses everyone. Although we are heading into winter here we can still find ways to keep fit with a bit of commitment and to keep down those nasty sneaky fat cells that wants to expand if you look at food. Enjoy your training and have fun in what you do!
PS:
Oh and yes, I have suffered from writers’ block if you wondering why I haven’t updated the blog – ok I’m lying I was just lazy.

Always an amazing experience to stay at Arabella Hotel and Spa and even better if you can do that for two weekends in a row

Always an amazing experience to stay at Arabella Hotel and Spa and even better if you can do that for two weekends in a row

That moment...when we didn't fall like at the 2013 Ride2Nowhere in McGregor. We are going back there in September to have a similar photo taken without the crash landing.

That moment…when we didn’t fall like at the 2013 Ride2Nowhere in McGregor. We are going back there in September to have a similar photo taken without the crash landing.

3 thoughts on “Finding that inspiration again…

  1. You are indeed correct, I am sporting my Mizuno trainers and SKINS compression gear, love them so much I spent the whole day in them yesterday. The main key word you failed to mention that was added to my vocabulary…… SEDENTARY! Well do on getting back on the bike…

  2. Lucky you that it only took a month – It has taken me forever to get my inspiration back! I have enjoyed the family time though but my ever shrinking cycle shorts are nudging me back to the bike in a hurry!

Leave a Reply

