Whoomp (t)here it is …

The 2014 Absa Cape Epic has arrived!

So after hours and months of riding my bike it all comes down to this. Can I put it together for 8 days? Never in my training did I ride for 8 days in a row

– madness.

But having said that, I would be lying if I said

Thanks to Rehidrat Sport my rehydration at the Absa Cape Epic will be sorted

Thanks to Rehidrat Sport my rehydration at the Absa Cape Epic will be sorted

I am not nervous. It’s been a tough week at work with too many things having to happen in this last build-up

to the prologue. Leave me alone people!

How does one pack for 8 days of bike riding, will I have enough legs, will the bum last and will I finally get full night sleep – please!

I find it difficult to write this post as the mind is constantly focussing on Sunday and back at my home packing my bags to make sure I have everything I need. This might be a tedious process as one does not want to be found wanting and looking for stuff you should have packed. There

is quite a list.

It’s been a fantastic journey so far and to have lost 30kg’s in the process has been phenomenal and life changing (I might lose a few more in the next week or so). I found shirts in my cupboard that I bought like 10 years ago that then just fitted and I was confident I will fit into them one day, well now they are nearly too big for me. I am wearing this shirt at the Absa Cape Epic – just because I can!

I’m not going into the whole “thank you to all” thing at the moment as there is still the like 718km to ride and 14850 meters to climb (you all know getting my small petite and lite body uphill is what I live for – not!) successfully before I can do that. So many people supported me on this journey and read my rambling nonsense words on Facebook and later this blog (Thanks Chantel).

So coach Swen here’s to the guidance and training to hopefully have a problem free and successful Absa Cape Ep

This week has been early mornings and finding my way in the dark. Beware - it's chilly out there early morning

This week has been early mornings and finding my way in the dark. Beware – it’s chilly out there early morning

ic and to everyone else, close friends and everyone else, the support is appreciated.

Look out for number 137-2 and my partner Greg James with 137-1. You can follow us with live tracking http://www.cape-epic.com/riders/registered-riders/whats-new/live-rider-tracking

Remember that I am riding for the JAG Foundation to create awareness and raise funds for our JAG Bullyproof campaign http://jagfoundation.org.za/?page_id=669 (Bullyproof day will be on 26 July 2014)

At the prologue on Sunday we are off second at 06:45:25”, nice and early. I’ll try to stay in touch and give some feedback on a daily basis for those that would like to hear about my suffering and pain each day.

Cheers! (I wonder how many peddle strokes I will have over the next week)

PS: This is the first time I will be riding in an event with my brother-in-law, Johan Labuschagne – so beware Johan and David Labuschagne, the race is on!

Supporting JAG Bullyproof campaign. Bullyproof day will be 25 July 2014 - get your schools involved

Supporting JAG Bullyproof campaign.
Bullyproof day will be 25 July 2014 – get your schools involved

One thought on “Whoomp (t)here it is …

  1. Wow Hans, I cant even begin to think of what awaits you from Sunday. You have prepared well so I am sure you are ready both physically and mentally. I will be holding thumbs and sending positive vibes. Be safe and I hope it is enjoyable – at least some parts!

Leave a Reply

