Out in my office and Standing up!

Now I have picked up a few comments from my friends that seem a bit envious that I am out and about on my bike, as it seems to them, all the time. Yes, this has been a week of note training wise. After the (wait for it) Cape Argus Pick ‘n Pay Momentum Mountain Bike Challenge I haven’t had a break with loads of hours training in this week. Yes, I am tired as I am typing this and you might see some drool on your screen. Monday started with a 4 hour ride, Tuesday some hill repeats, Wednesday a 3 hour ride in Tokai and yesterday I was fortunate enough to join the 2014 Cape Rouleur Festival ride, another 5 hours on the bike and ended up this morning at the Cape Town Westin for their Movement / Activities launch and filming by KFM. Average wake up time for this week past – 4:30 and through all this I still need to make sure that I do my actual job and things don’t lack behind. So yes, it has been great being out on the bike, but it’s also tough to keep up with your work and sleep. But it’s all worth it!

Myself with Jeremy Harris of KFM and Rob Kucera of The Cape Town Westin (Who is also mad enough to want to ride the 2015 Absa Cape Epic)

Myself with Jeremy Harris of KFM and Rob Kucera of The Cape Town Westin (Who is also mad enough to want to ride the 2015 Absa Cape Epic)

Joining the 2014 Cape Rouleur Festival Ride

Joining the 2014 Cape Rouleur Festival Ride

I officially have no clothes that fit me anymore…everything is just too big. Any females out there keen for a shopping experience in the men’s department?

The Mountain Bike Challenge was a fantastic experience as it was one of the few times I got if my bike at the finish and were smiling without wanting to curse the route designers for some ridiculous parts thrown in as some route designers like to do. And then I experienced the roadie thing by siting in a bunch with the 2014 Cape Rouleur Festival Ride, a different type of cycling experience to be on other than my usual of training by myself. I felt lost between all the roadies as I missed my single tracks; just kidding it was an amazing experience to be part of this race.

With 15 days to go, the nerves of riding the Absa Cape Epic has caught up with me as whatever can go wrong runs through my head and please tell sick people to stay away from me! Mentally and physically that is.

Having fun at the (wait for it) 2014 Cape Argus Pick 'n Pay Momentum Mountain Bike Challenge

Having fun at the (wait for it) 2014 Cape Argus Pick ‘n Pay Momentum Mountain Bike Challenge

As a former and soon to be again Fair Weather Cyclist I can’t say that I am looking forward to riding the (wait for it) 2014 Cape Argus Pick ‘n Pay Momentum Cycle Tour in the wind. They are forecasting some strong winds for the weekend and that has nothing to do with a high bean intake. But tough it out I will have to as all the hard work and commitment has brought us this close to the start of the Absa Cape Epic that I can’t let it slip now. Keep up the training.

I will be riding the Absa Cape Epic for the JAG Foundation and the focus will be on creating awareness of the JAG BullyProof campaign. Why not like the JAG Foundation Facebook Page and find out how you and or your kids’ schools can get involved. It’s free and simple – Stand Up, Don’t Stand By. You can Create the Change – The JAG Foundation uses sport as the medium to teach children to engage in physical activity, absorbing its values and benefits, in order to produce holistically healthy individuals who believe in themselves and their future.

Hope to have your support and watch out for number 137-2 at the Absa Cape Epic and riding partner 137-1, Greg James, we’ll mostly be in purple. You won’t miss us!

To my envious friends – nah nah nah nah nah nah and get on your bikes!

PS: I hope my friends Evert and Nikki has the Boerie Rolls ready by the time I get to Hippy Valley (aka Sun Valley / Noordhoek) Sunday at the Cycle Tour (Would I be allowed to have a beer at 9am?).

Pictured from left; my 1st attempt at W2W in 2011. I was dead last and all the crew at Stillwater Sports had to wait for me to get to the finish. 2nd from left, W2W in 2012 went much better with the help from Swen Lauer and Stillwater. 3rd from the left the mud wrestle at the 2013 W2W race and then what I looked like last week on the bike at the Mountain Bike Challenge. (I should get some new kit)

Pictured from left; my 1st attempt at W2W in 2011. I was dead last and all the crew at Stillwater Sports had to wait for me to get to the finish. 2nd from left, W2W in 2012 went much better with the help from Swen Lauer and Stillwater. 3rd from the left the mud wrestle at the 2013 W2W race and then what I looked like last week on the bike at the Mountain Bike Challenge. (I should get some new kit)

Leave a Reply

