Naked exclusive, see me just in my Skin…

…s, sorry I carried the s across by mistake, should have been Skins. Anyway my good mate Evert Ferreira sorted me out with some Skins apparel. Really dig the stuff and tried out the recovery, what would one call it, pants? I presume they call it skins because you might as well be naked if you walk around just wearing the tight fitting apparel.

Don't have the physique of a cyclist yet and hopefully will never be THAT skinny, but love my new Skins!

Don’t have the physique of a cyclist yet and hopefully will never be THAT skinny, but love my new Skins!

But hey they say it helps with recovery so I am in, especially after this weekends’ riding, or was that mountain climbing as Thinus Crafford pushed me to my limits again climbing up Noordhoek Peaks the ‘wrong’ way. That was quite a workout, but good fun to ride with Thinus again. No photographers around so we managed to stay on our bikes and not on the ground like at the Ride2Nowhere. Back to the Skins, it is quite a process to squeeze my slender body into tight fitting material. I am still getting used to wearing Lycra in public and now this as well (No I was not black mailed to publish the Skins pics of myself, I think).

My mate Thinus Crafford on top of the world after we finally conquered Noordhoek Peaks

My mate Thinus Crafford on top of the world after we finally conquered Noordhoek Peaks

Finally someone that rode with me to take a photo of me to proof that I am riding and not just Photoshopping my bike into images

Finally someone that rode with me to take a photo of me to proof that I am riding and not just Photoshopping my bike into images

Leading up to Attakwas this weekend I am slightly nervous to go out there and test the results of all the training. I have also realised the importance of a proper diet, ensuring one eats right to train and compete. What makes it more difficult is that I am also trying to lose weight. Look at my skins pics, am I skinny yet?

Anyway, blender bought for smoothies, watching those carbs and trying not to snack on wrong stuff, living the healthy life. Trying to blend in a smoothie after each ride as they say that apparently a high protein smoothie assists with muscle recovery, I can only imagine how sore my muscles would have been was it not for high protein smoothies and Skins recovery apparel…

2014 being a new year I ventured out to Jonkershoek to go do my LSD (Long Steady Distance) ride. What awesome riding, I really enjoyed it and the single track is fantastic. I will definitely drive there again to go ride. Riding up and up just to come down with endless single track – thoroughly enjoyed it. Next time Craig Kolesky, and Thinus you must join us.

Back to my bike pics. Riding in Jonkershoek for the first time - was great fun

Back to my bike pics. Riding in Jonkershoek for the first time – was great fun

Now Attakwas this weekend looms. In 2013 I attempted to ride this brutal race only to pull out after 47km with severe back pain as my setup wasn’t quite right. This year I have no excused as I will attempt the longest mountain bike ride of my biking career. Watch this space as I will update after the event.

It will be tough!

And tonight will be tough as well as I head off to a braai and will have to say no to beer and no to carbs – what a life 🙂

Out and about. Went to watch Bastille at Kirstenbos Gardens - awesome show and performance

Out and about. Went to watch Bastille at Kirstenbos Gardens – awesome show and performance

The crew at Bastille with me, Evert, Elana, Nikki and Rob

The crew at Bastille with me, Evert, Elana, Nikki and Rob

Near death experience in Tokai forest on Friday. Earlier that tree was not lying in the road

Near death experience in Tokai forest on Friday. Earlier that tree was not lying in the road

2 thoughts on “Naked exclusive, see me just in my Skin…

    • Thanks Lauren, for some reason my coach actually scheduled a recovery ride on Sunday. Will let you know what my schedule is like next week. Hope your riding over the weekend was good.

Leave a Reply

