Gasping For Air…

Now all my followers should know that last weekend I was the guest of HPF at the Mount Grace Magalies Adventure Mountain Bike Challenge and doubling up I went to Gauteng to actually do some work as well.

My Scapr Master's first multi-stage event at stunning Mount Grace - Beautiful Bike! and Hotel :)

My Scapr Master’s first multi-stage event at stunning Mount Grace – Beautiful Bike! and Hotel 🙂

Now the weekend did not start out as planned as my first gasp for air was when staying over at my sisters’ place I heard her crying when we just woke up. Immediately thoughts race through your head as to what happened to your mom or dad or Johan (my brother in law). As it turned out Johan was very, very lucky to have survived after being hit from behind by a reckless (immigrant with no licence) taxi driver whilst commuting to work on his bike. It took Dirkie (my sister) and I on 2 hours to drive to Sandton Medi Clinic once we got the news. It was horrific as you need to get to someone you love as fast as you can, not knowing exactly what was wrong. Must have been hell for my sister as we were stuck in peak hour traffic with taxis moving all over, and off the highway, through yellow lines etc. with no regard for other peoples’ safety, even their passengers on board. It was hell and soon Gauteng residence will be paying toll to ride on these highways. Worst even still was Radio Jacaranda (which playlist has not changed since 1 January 1986 the day it started broadcasting) with Mal Jan riding on a bicycle to Johannesburg to see if it can be done and basically looking, in jest, for alternatives to paying e-toll.

With Twitter things get all over the world quickly, not nice to see this when you are on the way to hospital

With Twitter things get all over the world quickly, not nice to see this when you are on the way to hospital

Taxi

The number plate of the taxi was not blurred out to protect the not so innocent

Now I won’t go into too much detail but one just realise how brittle life is and how easily it can be taken away from you. Johan is doing ok now after some surgery to fix his fracture cheekbones and attach muscles. He also suffered a fractured wrist bone, cut on his chin, under his eye, heavy abrasions on the side of his head and all over his body and also not wearing his gloves about no skin left on his fingers. Once again we can just say thank you that he is ok and can eventually walk away from this. Wishing you a speedy recovery Johan and we are glad you will be ok to be at the starting line for your 10th Absa Cape Epic in 2014.

Back to Magalies Adventure, Not having slept all that well in the build-up, oh and having too much red wine again (Thank you Andrew), I rocked up at the start, which fortunately was slow as we backed up in the single track, and off we went. So inevitably you start climbing and I start gasping, where the freaking h… is the oxygen. Huff and puff to the end with an extreme rating on Strava and 65 points in the red – it was a tough day on the bike, constantly gasping for air.

It was stunning though as you ride through beautiful scenery and staying at the serene Mount Grace Country House and Spa was absolutely stunning (http://www.mountgrace.co.za/) I will go back there today.

Day two was much better (less red win) as I was over my jetlag flying from Cape Town and perhaps a good night’s rest also helped as I blitzed the 42km’s of day 2 in 2h17m – which is fast for me.  Thanks again to Andrew and Angela who hosted us on behalf of the Hospitality Property Fund (as always – having proper fun)

This whole experienced just made me realise how important family and friends are. Thank you for everyone that showed so much support to Johan and Dirkie. I know it is much appreciated and thank you to the people that stopped and helped at the scene.

Safe cycling to everyone, remember to roads belong to both vehicles and cyclists – always be considerate and aware.

On another note, PLEASE vote for my friend Chantel Rall’s blog for the SA Bloggers award  – The World According To Princess

(http://www.theworldaccordingtoaprincess.co.za/ )If you are not following her blog yet – SHAME ON YOU!

Vote for my friend Chantel Rall's blog - I'm not asking again - DO IT NOW! I thank you for your support :)

Vote for my friend Chantel Rall’s blog – I’m not asking again – DO IT NOW!
I thank you for your support 🙂

Leave a Reply

