Back on the damn bike ;)

It has been a fantastic week! No training, no exercise, nothing! Just being lazy and of course working and supporting at FNB Wines2Whales race. Supporting fellow KTM riders Johan Labuschagne & Yolande de Villiers and spending time with my sister (married to Johan, which meant I supported my brother in law as well) driving from water point to water point with Dirkie and Henties (Yolande’s husband). Always good to see the De Villiers family from Oudtshoorn and FNB Wines2Whales has become some sort of a tradition. Well done to Yolande and her partner (Jennie Stenerhag) who won the ladies at W2W. Johan and Gerrie Beukes just missed out on the podium finish 4th in the Vets category. But enough of that now…and the race guys had it easy anyway – NO MUD!

Congratulations to Yolande de Villiers and Jennie Stenerhag winning the ladies category at FNB Wines2Whales

Congratulations to Yolande de Villiers and Jennie Stenerhag winning the ladies category at FNB Wines2Whales

When my alarm went off this am I did not really feel like going riding as I enjoyed the week of

Johan at water point 2 stage 2 heading for the amazing new hanging bridges on track

Johan at water point 2 stage 2 heading for the amazing new hanging bridges on track

sleeping a bit later every day, immensely. But hey, apparently I’m doing some 8 day mountain bike race next year so I better get my arse lighter and in gear. So scrambling to get everything right off I went and the body ached and moaned at me, why am I doing this again? But as the ride progressed and I was climbing up Black Hill I was actually enjoying being out on the bike again and for good measure on the way home I threw in a Boyes Drive Climb. Better get the intensity up!

I’ve entered myself to ride the EAI Val de Vie MTB Challenge on the 24th and better keep in shape. Can’t go and disappoint Victor Gardiner by not being in top shape at one of the events hosted by the new company he works for (See Vic, no names named for the All Speed Go event)

And then the following week of for some altitude training at the Magalies Adventure where I will hopefully be Having Proper Fun again as guest of the hpf guys. So the pressure will be on to perform and I do think I need to arrive a wee bit earlier in Gauteng / North West just to acclimatise. My slender body needs all the oxygen I can get. But seriously, I am lying if I’m saying I’m not nervous about riding the 2014 Absa Cape Epic, because I am! In the words of Karl Platt: “Eat less, train more”, but I need my food. I digest again, sorry digress again.

Dirkie wanted to see whales again like in 2012, thus see turned from the ocean and faced me with the camera..

Dirkie wanted to see whales again like in 2012, thus see turned from the ocean and faced me with the camera..

See you on the trails and soon I will be following my training programme again,

Always good to see the Hurtenator, here with myself and Henties. War stories off the bike from Marius

Always good to see the Hurtenator, here with myself and Henties. War stories off the bike from Marius

tailor made for me by Coach Swen Lauer, legend! (Does anyone know how to get your resting heart rate, I never rest, please help as the coach is looking for this)

Till next time and then I’ll give some feedback on doing a VO2 Max test – eish!

This moment made my W2W Race - Mad Cherie the photographer always in good spirits!

This moment made my W2W Race – Mad Cherie Vale, Newsport Media photographer, always in good spirits!

Leave a Reply

